Serenity

My Dad was crazier than a loon on drugs. Sorry, Dad, there’s just no other way to put it. Anyway, barring some truly amazing occurrences, Tholian will inherit the home. Vulcan is putting on a brave front about the whole thing, but I can tell he’s hurt. I think he’ll get over it, though.

Vulcan might not inherit the house, but he still gets the girl.
Vulcan might not inherit the house, but he still gets the girl.

Elmzyra’s a nice woman, despite the crazy name. It’s bittersweet, knowing your children will leave you, but also knowing they’re doing so because you’ve raised them well. My boy hasn’t left me yet, but it won’t be long now if I read the signs right. And I do.

He’s still a little boy to me, but I could see he was growing up when his grandfather came to visit. No, not Dad. Charlie’s father, Jake. Seeing the three of them around the table reminded me just how quickly Vulcan was growing up. He has his father’s face, but he’s still just so painfully skinny.

Three generations of Matlock men. Vulcan, Jake, and Charlie.
Three generations of Matlock men. Vulcan, Jake, and Charlie.

Jake does love his grandkids though. The old man wouldn’t even stop coming around after he died. Showed up in broad daylight when the twins needed help with schoolwork. He might be an old goat, but he’s a lovable old goat.

Uncle Pak and Grandpa Jake helping the kids with homework. Not even dying stops Grandpa Jake.
Uncle Pak and Grandpa Jake helping the kids with homework. Not even dying stops Grandpa Jake.

I did say Tholian will inherit, right? Let me check. Yup, right there at the top of the page. That little kid is driven. Both of the twins are, really, but he’s got a fire in his soul and a pepper in his… throat (yeah, that’s where I was going all along.) He showed himself to almost be Dad’s equal as a musician, and then decided to master making friends, starting with his Grandma Candice. Little kid’s not afraid of anything…

Oh wow, you're really my Mom's Mom, that's so cool. What was she like when she was my age?
Oh wow, you’re really my Mom’s Mom, that’s so cool. What was she like when she was my age?

Now he’s trying to match his sister in academics, which won’t be easy. She’s no slouch there herself. Those two are just going to set the world on fire. I just hope they don’t burn it down in the process.

The junior mad scientist league gets a new member.
The junior mad scientist league gets a new member.
I want this house, so I need you to read to me. Pleeeeease.
I want this house, so I need you to read to me. Pleeeeease.

Charlie, well, he’s still Charlie. He’s mad because they changed the promotion requirements down at work and it’ll take him longer than he expected to get up to the top. Oh, sure, he tells me he’s an accountant, but I figured that one out a long time ago, he’s one of the best spies around. Like there’s an astronaut out there without top secret clearance.

All the postcards there are to get.
All the postcards there are to get.

Anyway, my husband has gotten my Dad’s bug for collecting things. He’s proud of his postcard collection, so we’ve got it hanging up on the wall. Why not? It makes him happy.

You tell a space explorer from her garden.
You tell a space explorer from her garden.

For me, I’ve kept my promise and have been flying every day looking for clues to our real origins. Tholian and Horta, like me, have alien blood pumping through our veins. I found a green man in space, and was excited that I might finally have a real clue to our origins. But he was only a puppet, and one who couldn’t even talk straight, “Judge me by my size, do you?” No, I judge you by your ability to form a complete sentence. Anyway, he did leave us with some gifts. Makes our back yard all the more interesting.

One thought on “Serenity

Leave a Reply

