God laughs

If you want to see God laugh, tell Him your plans.

Oh come off it. After a build up like that, you don’t really expect me to get right to the surprise, do you? Let me guess, you read the last page of a mystery first. Fine, here it is. We’re haunted.

Finally. This is why we left your easel out in the first place!
Finally. This is why we left your easel out in the first place!

Yup, that’s right. My Mom is haunting us, and she’s back to painting. Beautiful paintings, too, and no one can tell them from an original Candice Alien – well, I guess they are Candice Alien’s.

Well, you’re not going to buy stuff from a bull, I can tell. No, that’s not really my surprise. But Mom has been coming around a lot to see her grandkids. My little boy Vulcan has grown into a, well, lanky and awkward teenager. I think his Grandma has taken it on herself to whip the boy into shape. I don’t remember her having quite that sharp a tongue when she was alive.

Put some meat on those bones, you're practically a skeleton, boy.
Put some meat on those bones, you’re practically a skeleton, boy.

Isn’t that the wrong way around though? The strict, stern parent is supposed to turn into the indulgent, kind grandparent. I’ve never heard of it working the other way around. But Vulcan seems to be responding well to it, better than he does to my own chiding.

I have to go to work... again?
I have to go to work… again?

On the other hand, when it comes to work, he taken more after his Uncle Pak.

There is an art to the building up of suspense. That’s Tom Stoppard, from Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead. Anyway, no, I’m not quite ready to reveal my big surprise, though it wouldn’t shock me if you’ve already guessed. Or looked ahead.

A home gym is fine, but then I'm not showing off for new people.
A home gym is fine, but then I’m not showing off for new people.

Charlie, my sweet lovable husband, has gone on an utterly insane gym kick. I mean, we all have our hobbies, but please. Well, it makes him happy, so why not?

Oh yeah! I'm the buffest.
Oh yeah! I’m the buffest.

Oh, all right. I didn’t have a girl. I had a boy. And a girl.

My little ones. Tholian and Horta. And they’re green. Like me and their grandpa.

Tholian (left) and Horta (right -- obviously)
Tholian (left) and Horta (right — obviously)

I’ve been scouring the skies looking for clues to our origin, but I have not been quite as diligent as I might have been. When they were born I realized this. For them, I make my vow that I will fly every day to search out clues that can help them. Neither Hell not high water shall stand in my way.

The twins need to know where they come from. I vow to fly every day until I find out.
The twins need to know where they come from. I vow to fly every day until I find out.

They are, however, cute little handfuls who’ve grown up so very quickly. Tholian takes after his grandma, and his Uncle, I suppose, in his interest in art. I’ve already caught the little tyke playing on Dad’s piano – of course I let him, Dad would be thrilled beyond words to have one of his grandkids follow him into music.

The twins grow up - and decide to wear matching outfits.
The twins grow up – and decide to wear matching outfits.
It's good, but Grandma did better. Let me try again.
It’s good, but Grandma did better. Let me try again.

Horta has a love of books that rivals her Daddy. Charlie started out reading to her, and she devoured every word. Before I knew it, she was reading to me. She has the brains of the family, though it boggles my mind where she gets them from.

That's a good story, Daddy, but you're not doing the funny voices this time.
That’s a good story, Daddy, but you’re not doing the funny voices this time.

The twins get along beautifully with each other, so much that I sometimes worry they’re up to something. If so, well, I know where they get that from. All my fault.

Partners? You bet. We'll rule this house.
Partners? You bet. We’ll rule this house.
2 thoughts on “God laughs

  1. Haha! Plenty of kids!

    I was wondering if you were going to follow up on Motie’s origins. I also wondered if you were going to require that an heir have green skin, since that would keep them visibly alien. I guess I’ll read on and see.

    Like

  2. I’m not requiring that the heir be green skinned, but I’m definitely leaning that way. It’s worked out so far, but we’ll have to see if it can last the full 10 generations. Glad you’re still reading, and thanks so much for the comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

